Communication 101

Question of the day: How do you know when it’s really time to let go?

I have to be honest…even with the mountain of evidence and the rivers of hurt, I still held out hope for my marriage to be saved. A little portion of my soul believed, truly believed and yearned for that lightening bolt. It would strike my husband and he would turn to me and say “I’m sorry.” And I would forgive him.

But that is not going to happen.

Here is how I know for sure…

“I’m sorry you feel that way.”

“You’re sorry that I feel that it’s the right thing to do to try to save a 20 year relationship and marriage…?”

“No, that you think that talking to me about it is the way to get your point across.”

Excuse me?

Oh, you know what?

You are absolutely right!

How stupid of me! I thought communication was the key to a relationship.

What’s that?

It IS the key to a relationship?

Oh, that’s right. Communication IS the key to a relationship.

In fact, it’s the key to being human. We communicate daily with everyone we come in contact with. With both verbal and nonverbal communication.

It’s WHAT. WE. DO.

So, this is where I give myself permission to let go. To stop hoping. To really believe it’s over. And to know that I’ve tried, beyond every possible expectation and what any other rational person would do.

Because the level of irrational thoughts have progressed to a point of me supposedly needing to communicate without communication.

And that, folks, is a trick that I can’t master.

 

Leave a Reply

