8,600 Pounds of Awesome

So, I think I’ve been pretty honest here about my life.

And, one of the things I’ve talked about is how much I love my job. And that is one of the great joys in my life. Because I truly believe that it is important to love what you do.

Today, I drove around 600 pounds of food to a local homeless shelter to deliver it. And I let a local animal rescue know that I secured over 8,000 pounds of kibble to donate to their dogs.

I work at an amazing place owned by people who understand that it is just as important to give as it is to receive.

And, I am lucky enough that they let me do the giving.

Because the joy radiating out of the people I get to give to is something that I so desperately need to see right now. And it feeds my soul. And it is wonderful to behold. Because it reminds me that there are always people who need something more than I do.

And it also gave me a chance to face my deepest fears.

Because as I was driving away from that shelter, all I kept hearing in my head over and over again was, “You could end up here with your children.” And I was able to replace that thought with, “Even if we do, we’ll be together. But I know I am loved, and there isn’t one person that loves me on this planet that would let that happen.”

Even in my time of fear, I am overcome by the love I am surrounded with. I am thankful for the job I have. I am thankful beyond measure.

So, I encourage you to find a job you love. Life is too short to do anything else.

2 thoughts on “8,600 Pounds of Awesome

  1. You and the kiddos would NEVER end up in a shelter because you can ALWAYS move to Iowa with me. We would be cozy living in a three bedroom mobile home, but we would get through it. This is FACT, not if/then or any lip service. You and the family would ALWAYS have a home with us……Love ya and don’t worry about stupid stuff….there is plenty of real shit to worry about! LOL!

Leave a Reply

