An Unexpected Gift

Today I woke up with a feeling in my chest that I didn’t recognize.

I carried it during my morning devotions, and when I was making breakfast for my son. I held it when I walked him to the bus and on my way to work. I let it sit with me as I went through my work day and it followed me home.

It continued to grow and radiate through my body all day long.

It scared me.

This foreign feeling was filling up the dark hole that has been dominating my life for months. I wasn’t sure what was happening. It was almost painful in its consumption of my being. Definitely insistent on not being ignored. Alien to me, although something familiar from a long time ago…as if looking through distorted glass down a long tunnel. I think I remember feeling this way before but was unable to process because it was so unexpected and confusing.

You see, today I woke up happy.

And it stayed with me the whole day.

I spontaneously smiled.

I laughed (and really meant it).

I was extremely productive at work.

I was extremely productive at home.

I wrote.

I am embracing this unexpected gift and choosing to accept it. I have lived in the moments of today and enjoyed myself.

For the first time in what seems like forever…

3 thoughts on “An Unexpected Gift

  1. Thank God. I am happy to hear you are happy. Hang in there and be happy ALL the time.
    You are an inspiration to many.
    Bless you Meg..
    Gerri

Leave a Reply

