All {Wo}Men Are NOT Created Equal

Notice I don’t say born. I say create. Whether by upbringing, circumstance, choice…we create who we are.

Daily.

That’s why we aren’t created equal. I say we start out equal; however, what we create is vastly different. Because some people create beautiful beings of love and others create selfish beings of…well, selfishness.

We change daily. We choose to create a better person or a worse person. But we don’t stand still. Regardless of how it feels, you are not the same person you were yesterday. And you will not be the same person tomorrow you are today. The path you are on is forged by how you perceive your life. And the choice and goals you make.

Are they self-centered? Or, do they include somehow sharing your talents with those around you? Do you perceive what you are doing as useful? Or do you hate it? Are you choosing happiness, but not at the cost of those around you? (Because I paid a terrible toll for what one man perceives as happiness.)

I realized today that my husband would probably still be living in the house if I hadn’t found out about “her”. He didn’t have the integrity to tell me about “her”. He didn’t choose to be honest. He chose to do the “easy” thing and pretend. He is still in denial and continues to spin yarns about reality. He chose to create the life he currently has by those actions.

I chose to create the life I currently have by being strong enough to say no. By looking fear in the eye and say, “But, I deserve better!” By being honest and understanding that my perception of our relationship was just that…my perception. One person can only contribute 100% to 50% of a relationship. And if the other party is not being honest, there is no way to fix things.

You can choose to become better. You can choose how you view your situation. Perception is huge in (re)building your life. Reasons are huge.

I believe that is what has tripped me up for so long. I don’t know why this is happening. There are no rational reasons. I can’t seem to equate the man who was with the man who is. When did he create this person? The one with no loyalty? The one with no honor? How did I not see it happening?

But, does it stand to reason that if I find out those answers I’ll be any better? Will it change anything?

No.

My perception of the situation is what it is and will be what it is. But the choice is mine.

The only way I can be better is to choose to be better.

Yes, my life is in a shambles.

Yes, everything seems to be falling apart or falling away.

Yes, there is nothing stable to place my feet upon to keep me upright.

Yes, it is exhausting to be constantly on my guard, trying to decipher between the continued lies and what is actual truth.

I can’t control what is happening to me. I can control how I happen to the things happening to me though. I can choose to smile through the tears. I can choose to hold my head up. I can choose to keep reaching forward and not let the past encase my heart in cement.

Just as I have chosen to perceive fear as a bully, I choose to look to the future with anticipation instead of trepidation. I am going to look back as a barometer for my progress, and that is all.

I am creating a wonderful me and I’m not apologizing for it!

 

 

2 thoughts on “All {Wo}Men Are NOT Created Equal

  1. Wow Meg – great words and so utterly true. Well done for being brave, true and honest. Going after truth and light in your life is the only way. I am going through the same thing as you with my husband but for the 2nd time. He left me with our 11 week old baby over two years again with woman no 1, he is now with woman no 2. This time he carefully cultivated it to look like there was nothing before he left, but I’d been suspicious and uncomfortable about his interest in her for months. The only truth I’ve had out of him is to confirm he is in a relationship with her now and she has left her husband for him – poor her!!! The last almost 4 months have been grim, but like you I am trying every day to not let fear be a bully – I love your description of that, trying to look forwards and not backwards except to use it as a barometer to see how far I’ve come – love your description of that too. Hope I can be of any support to you as we travel this similar path! Sending big hugs. xx

    • Thanks for the hugs 🙂
      My husband’s lady left her husband for him too. So sad that they think it will actually work out. I shake my head at it often. The prize she won is a man willing to lie, cheat, and steal from the woman he vowed to love, honor, and cherish. It boggles my mind what people will do and settle for. If he did it to me (or you) he sure as heck is going to do it again! Sorry you’re going through this too!

Leave a Reply

